Yaya Toure is fourth time CAF Player of the Year

Manchester City midfield star Yaya Toure won a fourth straight CAF African Footballer of the Year Award for 2014 in Lagos on Thursday night.

He thus equals the record of Cameroon’s Samuel Eto’o Fils, who has also scooped this award four times.

The Ivory Coast skipper, 31, beat off the challenge of Gabon and Borussia Dortmund star Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Nigeria goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama, who features for top French club Lille.

Yaya, who first won this prestigious award in 2011, led Manchester City to win the English Premier League title in the year under review as well as qualified his country to the 2014 World Cup in Brazil.

The vote was done by the coaches and technical directors of the 54 member-countries of the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Ndombe Mubele, who scored six goals as AS Vita of DR Congo reached the final of the Champions League, was picked as Africa’s best player based in Africa.

Nigeria’s Asisat Oshoala beat compatriot Desire Oparanozie and Cameroon goalkeeper Annette Ngom Ndom to be crowned Africa’s best female star of the past year.

She also won the Youth Player of the Year Award.

The 20-year-old Oshoala, who was voted the MVP and top scorer of the 2014 FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup in Canada, will join former Nigeria stars like Mercy Akide and Perpetua Nkwocha who have won this accolade.

Algeria were picked as Africa’s best national team of last year after they reached the knockout rounds of the 2014 World Cup for the first time in their history, but coach Vahid Halihodzic was pipped to the CAF Coach of the Year Award by Kheireddine Madoui of Entente Setif .

‘Black Eagles’ and 2014 CAF Champions League winners Setif also upstaged Egypt’s Al Ahly to be named Club of the Year.

The roll call of the award winners

African Player of the Year

Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City)

African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

Ndombe Mubele (DR Congo and AS Vita)

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Rivers Angels)

Youth Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and Rivers Angels)

Most Promising Talent

Yacine Brahimi (Algeria and FC Porto)

Coach of the Year

Kheireddine Madoui (ES Setif)

National Team of the Year


Women’s National Team of the Year


Club of the Year

ES Setif

Referee of the Year

Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)