Watchout for Euro 2016 draw – scheduled for December 12

The Euro 2016 draw will be staged in Paris on December 12 at 17:00 UK time and UEFA General Secretary Gianni Infantino will be strutting his stuff.


  • There are four pots comprised of the 23 teams to have qualified for the finals, with France to be automatically assigned as team A1 in Pot 1.
  • The teams will be drawn into six groups of four (A to F).
  • The draw will begin with Pot 1 and each team will be assigned to a position: E.g. B1 (Group B), then C1 (Group C), and so on.
  • The draw then moves to Pot 4, followed by Pot 3 and concluded with Pot 2.
  • The top two teams from each group, along with the four best third-placed sides, will advance through to the knockout stages.

Pot 1: Spain, Germany, England, Portugal, Belgium

Pot 2: Italy, Russia, Switzerland, Austria, Croatia, Ukraine

Pot 3: Czech Republic, Sweden, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Hungary

Pot 4: Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Iceland, Wales, Albania, Northern Ireland

The potential ‘group of death’, according to the coefficients, would be: Germany, Italy, Czech Republic and Turkey.

The ‘easiest’ group would be: Belgium, Ukraine, Hungary and Northern Ireland.

More to follow…