Van Persie, Costa, Ibrahimovic & James nominated for Puskas award

The nominees for the award given to the scorer of the best goal in 2014 have been announced and the four stars have all been included on the shortlist

Fifa has announced the shortlist for the 2014 Puskas award and have included Robin van Persie, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Diego Costa and James Rodriguez in the shortlist.

The award is given to the best goal of the calendar year and has already been won by Ibrahimovic, Miroslav Stoch, Neymar, Hamit Altintop and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Ibrahimovic’s incredible overhead kick for Sweden against England was the winning goal in 2013 and the Paris Saint-Germain striker could retain the prize thanks to his incredible backheel goal for the French champions against Bastia.

Robin van Persie’s iconic diving header in Netherlands’ 5-1 demoition of Spain in the World Cup has also been included in the nominees, along with Tim Cahill’s incredible strike against the Oranje in the same tournament. James’ excellent goal from the edge of the box for Colombia against Uruguay and Diego Costa’s overhead kick for Atletico Madrid against Getafe also make the shortlist.

Goals from Marco Fabian, Steph Roche, Camilo Sanvezzo Pajtim Kasami and Hisato Sato are the others in with a chance of winning the award.