Tevez double leg break challenge won’t result in Suarez-style punishment

Boca Juniors forward Carlos Tevez will not face disciplinary action for the tackle that left Argentinos Juniors midfielder Ezequiel Ham with a broken leg.

Tevez scored twice in Saturday’s 3-1 Primera Division triumph, but his afternoon turned sour when his 50-50 challenge with Ham – Argentinos Juniors’ goalscorer – left his opponent with a sickening break to his right tibia and fibula.

Ham required surgery and is expected to be sidelined for six to eight months.

Tevez, who offered a heartfelt post-match apology, was not punished by referee Luis Alvarez for the tackle and the Disciplinary Tribunal of the Argentine Football Association cited footballing precedent against taking retrospective action in relation to an incident that has been dealt with by the on-field officials.

Fernando Mitjans, president of the tribunal, was quoted by Marca as saying that only an exceptional incident such as Luis Suarez’s bite on Italy defender Giorigio Chiellini during the 2014 World Cup would prompt such punishment.

“Fifa recommends that except in a case [where there is] manifestly serious intent, as with Suarez with Chiellini, do not punish the player,” he said. “In the case of Tevez it is difficult to prove malice.”

AFA arbitration board director Miguel Scime claimed Tevez should have been punished at the time and said that Alvarez was likely to be withdrawn from action as a result.

“Tevez deserved disciplinary action,” Scime told ESPN Radio FM.