South Africa name starting line-up for Ghana clash

Bafana Bafana boss, Ephraim ‘Shakes’ Mashaba has revealed his starting line up for Tuesday’s crucial Group C clash against Ghana at the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations way ahead of kickoff, as usual.

The South Africa coach has made four changes to teh side that drew 1-1 with Senegal in their last game, including give a third goalkeeper a start in their third straight game in Equatorial Guinea.

Bafana Bafana must beat the Black Stars to stand any chance of progressing to the phase of the competition after taking only one point from their opening two fixtures at the continental soccer showpiece and he has reined changes in the side as he seeks to secure their first victory.

Brilliant Khuzwayo has replaced Jackson Mabokgwane who started against Senegal in goal after Darren Keet has manned the post in their opening match day loss to Algeria.

Rivaldo Coetzee, who missed the battle with the Teranga Lions due to injury sustained in the game against the Desert Foxes, returns in central defence in place of the injured Thulani Hlatshwayo and is set to play alongside Erick Mathoho, Anele Ngcongca and Thabo Matlaba in the Bafana defence.

Mashaba also brings in Mandla Masango for Oupa Manyisa in midfield tom pair the unchanged Dean Furman (captain), Andile Jali and Thuso Phala.

Upfront, Tokelo Rantie and Bongani Ndulula who makes his first start of the tournament are preferred by Mashaba to lead the search for goals against the Black Stars who must also win to assure qualification to the quarter finals.

South Africa XI vs Ghana: 

1-Brilliant Khuzwayo (GK), 6-Anele Ngcongca, 11-Thabo Matlaba, 2-Rivaldo Coetzee, 3-Eric Mathoho, 15-Dean Furman (C), 5-Andile Jali, 7-Mandla Masango, 18-Thuso Phala, 23-Tokelo Rantie, 9-Bongani Ndulula

Subs:  16-Darren Keet (GK), 22-Jackson Mabokgwane (GK), 21-Ayanda Gcaba, 13-Thamsanqa Sangweni, 19-Themba Zwane, 12-Reneilwe Letsholonyane, 20-Oupa Manyisa, 8-Bongani Zungu, 17-Bernard Parker, 4-Siyabonga Nhlapho, 10-Sibusiso Vilakazi,

Injured:  14-Thulani Hlatshwayo