South Africa coach nominated for Fifa award

Banyana Banyana coach Vera Pauw has been shortlisted by FIFA as one of 10 candidates for the Best Women’s Coach of 2016.

Pauw joins an elite company that includes US women’s coach Jill Ellis, Germany’s Silvia Neid, Sweden’s Pia Sundaghe and Brazil’s Oswaldo Vadao.

Pauw, 53, has been Banyana coach since 2014, and qualified the team for the 2016 Olympic Games where they finished 10th.

An excited Pauw quickly tweeted her pride at the nomination.

The winner of The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2016 will be determined through a combined voting process, in which 50% of the decision will be based on the choices of all captains and head coaches of women’s national teams around the globe. The other 50% will be defined by the result of an online public ballot with football fans and the submissions from a selected group of over 200 media representatives from the six continents.

The voting process for player and coach of the year in 2016, in both men’s and women’s football, starts on 4 November and will close on 22 November. The final lists of three nominees for each of these categories – as well as for the FIFA Puskás Award and the brand new FIFA Fan Award – will be announced on 2 December and the awards will be presented at The Best FIFA Football Awards show on 9 January 2017.

The candidates, in alphabetical order, are:

* Philippe Bergeroo (France/French national team)
* Jill Ellis (USA/US national team)
* John Herdman (England/Canadian national team)
* Silvia Neid (Germany/German national team)
* Vera Pauw (Netherlands/South African national team)
* Gérard Prêcheur (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
* Pia Sundhage (Sweden/Swedish national team)
* Oswaldo Vadão (Brazil/Brazilian national team)
* Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Germany/Swiss national team)
* Thomas Wörle (Germany/FC Bayern Munich

culled from

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store