Ronaldo to be crowned Ballon d’Or next Monday

Following a leak on Tuesday, it’s now certain that Cristiano Ronaldo will be announced as the Ballon d’Or winner on Monday December 12.

The founder of the prestigious award, France Football, has announced that the ceremony will begin at 17:30 CET and finish at 20:00, with the trophy being presented to the Real Madrid star.

Over the course of the two-and-a-half hours, the 30-man shortlist will be placed in ascending order before the winner is invited onto the stage.

Usually a tense affair, the premature crowning of Ronaldo may make this year’s event more of a formality than previously thought.

It does, however, remain to be seen who will finish immediately behind the Portuguese forward, with Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann favourites after having enjoyed stellar campaigns in LaLiga.

Ballon d’Or shortlist

Real Madrid: Bale, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kroos, Modric, Pepe, Sergio Ramos

Barcelona: Iniesta, Messi, Neymar, Luis Suarez

Bayern: Lewandowski, Muller, Neuer, Vidal

Atletico: Godin, Griezmann, Koke

Juventus: Buffon, Dybala, Higuain

Manchester City: Aguero, De Bruyne

Manchester United: Pogba, Ibrahimovic.

Leicester: Mahrez, Vardy

Dortmund: Aubameyang

Tottenham: Lloris

West Ham: Payet

Sporting: Rui Patricio

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store