Riyad Mahrez crowned Caf African Footballer of the Year

    By Prince Dulzy

    Leicester City superstar Riyad Mahrez won the Caf African Footballer of the Year on Thursday after helping the Foxes clinch the Premier League title last season.

    Mahrez, 25, received the accolade for the first time in his career receiving 361 votes in the process, finishing ahead of Borussia Dortmund forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (313) and Liverpool’s striker Sadio Mane (186).

    “I want to thank all my team mates at Leicester and Algeria and my coaches. This is a huge honour for me,” Mahrez said on receiving the award.

    He is the third French-born player to win the award, after Frederic Kanoute and Aubameyang, and the third Algerian international since Lakhdar Belloumi in 1981 and Rabah Madjer in 1987.

    READ MORE: Cristiano Ronaldo wins 2016 Ballon d’Or

    The Algerian is already the PFA Player of the Year and BBC African Footballer of the Year.

    Mahrez was instrumental for Leicester City last season as the Foxes clinched to a historic Premier League title for the first time, scoring 17 goals in the process. Despite a poor run of performances from Leicester this season, Mahrez has been exceptional helping the team to reach the knock-out stages of the UEFA Champions League for the first time in the club’s history.

    African Player of the Year: HOW THEY VOTED

    The award was voted for by media experts and head coaches or technical directors from each of Caf’s 56 member associations.

    Manchester City and Nigeria forward Kelechi Iheanacho was named Africa’s Most Promising Talent and Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi also Nigerian won Young Player of the Year at the CAF awards.

    By Prince Dulzy

    Download our mobile app today.

    Android – Google Play Store