Real Madrid voted European Club of the Year

The European Club Association (ECA) has voted Real Madrid as 2016’s European Club of the Year, an honour which Pedro Lopez Jimenez – a vice-president of Los Blancos – accepted on behalf of the club.

Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, who is the chairman of the group, was the man to present Jimenez with the gong.

Since 2010, the association has awarded the prize to one club with Real Madrid having won on one other occasion, in 2014.

The Spanish giants were honoured this year’s award for ‘their outstanding European and domestic accomplishments during the season’.

In every season so far, the team which has won the Champions League has received the accolade, with Barcelona winning it in 2015 and 2011, Bayern Munich in 2013, Chelsea in 2012 and Inter in 2010.

Liverpool, Borussia Dortmund, PSV Eindhoven, Fiorentina and Molde were also recognised for various achievements.


Credit: Marca

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store