Real Madrid dominate FIFPro World XI shortlist over Barcelona

Real Madrid have more players than treble-winning Barcelona on the 55-man shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI for 2015.

FIFPro, the global union for footballers, announced the shortlist for the XI, which is voted on by almost 25,000 professionals from across the world.

Madrid, who ended last season without a trophy and only last weekend suffered a heavy 4-0 home defeat to Barcelona, have the most nominations with 12, led of course by Cristiano Ronaldo.

Barcelona, who won La Liga, the Copa del Rey and the Champions League last season, only have 10 players on the shortlist, including Lionel Messi, Neymar and Luis Suarez.

Bayern Munich, winners of the Bundesliga, have 11, one more player than Barcelona, while the Premier League in total has just 10 representatives.

Manchester United’s Wayne Rooney and David De Gea make the cut, along withJohn Terry, Branislav Ivanovic and Eden Hazard from champions Chelsea.

The final XI will be unveiled on January 11, 2016 at the FIFA Balon d’Or gala.

The full shortlist:

Goalkeepers (5): Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain/FC Porto), David De Gea (Spain/Manchester United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid) and Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).

Defenders (20): David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jérôme Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus), Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain), Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanović (Serbia/Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium/Manchester City), Philipp Lahm(Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano(Argentina/FC Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué (Spain/FC Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), John Terry (England/Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain) and Raphaël Varane (France/Real Madrid).

Midfielders (15): Thiago Alcântara (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andrés Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid), Andrea Pirlo (Italy/New York City FC),Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitić (Croatia/FC Barcelona), James Rodríguez(Colombia/Real Madrid), David Silva (Spain/Manchester City),Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast/Manchester City), Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain) and Arturo Vidal(Chile/FC Bayern Munich).

Strikers (15): Sergio Agüero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Douglas Costa (Brazil/FC Bayern Munich), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Zlatan Ibrahimović (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Müller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), Wayne Rooney (England/Manchester United), Alexis Sánchez(Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suárez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona) and Carlos Tevez (Argentina/Boca Juniors).