Real Madrid and Barcelona dominate FIFPro World 11 nominees

FIFPro has revealed the nominees for the 2016 World 11, which sees Spain heavily represented at both domestic and international level.

Real Madrid and Barcelona have their entire starting line-ups from the 2015/16 campaign on the list, which includes the most Spaniards with 10.

Record Bundesliga champions Bayern Munich are featured the second-most prominently with nine players, while seven Germans were nominated.

Juventus – the dominant force in Serie A for a number of seasons now – have seven representatives, although Dani Alves and Gonzalo Higuain only joined the Italian giants six months ago.

Leicester striker Jamie Vardy is the only Englishman shortlisted, meaning that Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney misses out for the first time since the award’s inception 12 years ago.

PFA Player of the Year Riyad Mahrez and Premier League Golden Boot winner Harry Kane are both absent as well.

FIFPro nominees:

Goalkeepers (5): Claudio Bravo (Chile/Barcelona/Man City), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus), David De Gea (Spain/Man United), Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid), Manuel Neuer (Germany/Bayern Munich).

Defenders (20): David Alaba (Austria/Bayern Munich), Jordi Alba (Spain/Barcelona), Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast/Paris Saint-Germain), Hector Bellerin (Spain/Arsenal), Jerome Boateng (Germany/Bayern Munich), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Juventus), Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus), Dani Alves (Brazil/Barcelona/Juventus), David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain/Chelsea), Diego Godín (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid), Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund/Bayern Munich), Philipp Lahm (Germany/Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid), Gerard Pique (Spain/Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid), Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain) and Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid).

Midfielders (15): Xabi Alonso (Spain/Bayern Munich), Sergio Busquets (Spain/Barcelona), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Man City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain/Barcelona), N’Golo Kante (France/Leicester City/Chelsea) Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid), Mesut Ozil (Germany/Arsenal), Dimitri Payet (France/West Ham United), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus/Man United), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/Barcelona), David Silva (Spain/Man City), Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain), Arturo Vidal (Chile/Bayern Munich).

Strikers (15): Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Man City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus), Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid), Gonzalo Higuain (Argentina/Napoli/Juventus), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain/Man United), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern Munich), Lionel Messi (Argentina/Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany/Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/Barcelona), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/Barcelona) and Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City).

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store