Painstil Shocked By Gyan’s Absence On CAF List

Ivorian Football Icon Yaya Toure, Vincent Enyeama of Nigeria and Pierre Emerick Aubameyang will by vying for the African Footballer of the year gong after the confederation of African Football named their final three nominees.

Yaya Toure who has won the accolade for 3 times is highly tipped by pundits to equal Samuel Eto’s 4 time record of winning the accolade after he was named in the final nominees.

The decision by the Confederation of African Football CAF, to nominate their final three without Black Stars Captain Asamoah Gyan has caused mixed reactions from pundits, with Ghanaian International John Paintsil joining the list schoked.

According to Paintsil, Gyan’s amazing run both for his club and his National team during the world Cup qualifiers and the world cup itself makes him an obvious choice for the accolade, and he is stunned the Al Ain striker has been overlooked in the final shortlist.

“For me personally I am shocked that Asamoah couldn’t make it to the final 3, because he did well, he was scoring for his club and for his Nation.

“So I don’t know why he was included in the final 3, that is the decision of CAF and we must respect it but I am shocked that he was not part. John Paintsil told