Nations Cup 2015: Alex Song misses out on Cameroon squad

Cameroon coach Volke Finke has named a preliminary 27-man squad for January’s Africa Cup of Nations finals in Equatorial Guinea.

The German has stuck mainly to the players he used in the qualifiers, but there is no place for Alex Song.

The midfielder has not played for Cameroon since being sent off in the 4-0 World Cup loss to Croatia.

His impressive form this season at West Ham on loan from Barcelona had lead to speculation he would earn a recall.

After losing all their matches at the World Cup in Brazil, Cameroon will be hoping to build on an unbeaten qualifying campaign at the Cup of Nations finals.

Strikers Vincent Aboubakar and Clinton N’Jie scored seven of the nine goals the Indomitable Lions netted in a qualifying campaign that included a 4-1 win over Ivory Coast.

The two will meet again in Group D at the finals.

Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting is also enjoying a good season with German side Schalke 04, with nine Bundesliga goals to his name so far.

Cameroon will begin their preparation at home and will host Congo-Brazzaville for a friendly on 7 January before travelling to Gabon the next day for a training camp.

While in Gabon, the Indomitable Lions will play a friendly against South Africa on 11 January and another one against an opponent to be decided three days later.

They will fly to Malabo for the Nations Cup finals on 16 January, a day before the tournament is due to kick-off.

Provisional Cameroon squad:

Goalkeepers: Joseph Ondoua (Barcelona, Spain), Guy Ndy Assembe (Nancy, France), Pierre Sylvain Abogo (Tonnerre Yaoundé)

Defenders: Cédric Djeugoue (Coton Sport), Jérôme Guihi Ata (Valenciennes, France), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille, France), Ambroise Oyongo Bitolo (New York Red Bulls, USA), Brice Nlate Ekongolo (Marseille, France), Franck Bagnack (Barcelona, Spain), Henri Bedimo (Lyon, France),

Midfielders: Stéphane Mbia (Seville, Spain), Enoh Eyong (Standard Liège, Belgium), Raoul Cedric Loe (CA Osasuna, Spain), Edgard Salli (Academica de Coimbra. Portugal), Georges Mandjeck (Kayseri Erciyesspor, Turkey), Franck Kom (Etoile du Sahel, Tunisia), Patrick Ekeng (FC Cordoba, Spain)

Forwards: Eric-Maxim Choupo-Moting (Schalke 04, Germany), Benjamin Moukandjo (Reims, France), Jacques Zoua (Kayseri Erciyesspor, Turkey), Vincent Aboubakar (Porto, Portugal), Léonard Kwekeu (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey), Clinton N’Jie (Lyon, France), Franck Etoundi (Zurich, Switzerland)