Luis Suarez lucky not to be sent off for this kick on Juanfran

Barcelona striker Luis Suarez scored twice in the Champions League clash with Atletico Madrid on Tuesday night, but was he lucky not to see red for an earlier incident?

Television footage appeared to show the controversial Uruguayan kicking out at Atletico defender Juanfran.

Luis Enrique’s side were a man up at the time, and the referee would surely have made it 10 apiece had he seen the clash.

But the former Liverpool man escaped punishment and went on to score twice for Barcelona, first cancelling out Fernando Torres’s opener and later heading the Catalan giants ahead.

Suarez could yet face retrospective action after the game.

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store