Kolo Toure included in Ivory Coast squad for final time

The defender will retire from international duty after the Africa Cup of Nations, 15 years since winning his first cap, while his brother Yaya and Wilfried Bony are also included

Kolo Toure has been included in the Cote d’Ivoire squad for the final time as Herve Renard announced his selection for the Africa Cup of Nations.

The Liverpool defender announced earlier this month that he would go into international retirement following the finals in Equatorial Guinea.

Toure made his debut for his country in 2000 and has since made more than 100 appearances in national colours.

The finals begin on January 17, with the Elephants’ first Group D fixture coming against Guinea on January 20.

Renard’s men will then take on Mali and Cameroon, as they look to claim a first title since 1992.

Toure’s brother Yaya is also in the 23-man squad, along with fellow Premier League stars Cheick Tiote and Wilfried Bony and it will be the first tournament for the side since Didier Drogba’s retirement.

Squad in full

Goalkeepers: Boubacar Barry (Lokeren), Sylvain Gbohouo (Sewe Sport), Sayouba Mande (Staebek)

Defenders: Jean-Daniel Akpa Akpro (Toulouse), Serge Aurier (Paris Saint-Germain) Eric Bertrand Bailly (Espanyol), Wilfried Kanon (ADO Den Haag), Sakia Tiene (Montpelier), Kolo Toure (Liverpool), Ousmane Viera (Rizespor)

Midfielders: Roger Assale (Sewe Sport), Serey Die (Basel), Ismael Diomande (St Etienne), Cheick Doukoure (Metz), Max Gradel (St Etienne), Cheick Tiote (Newcastle United), Yaya Toure (Manchester City)

Forwards: Wilfried Bony (Swansea City), Seydou Doumbia (CSKA Moscow), Gervinho (Roma), Salomon Kalou (Hertha Berlin), Junior Tallo (Bastia), Lacina Traore (Monaco)