Kiprop, Lilesa win Tokyo Marathon

Helah Kiprop broke the course record at the Tokyo Marathon as Feyisa Lilesa also claimed victory on Sunday.

Kiprop, second in the race last year, clocked a time of two minutes, 21.27 seconds to break the record previously held by Ethiopia’s Tirfi Tsegaye (2014).

The Kenyan, a silver medallist at the world championships in Beijing last year, was followed over the line by Amane Gobena and Edna Kiplagat.

In the men’s event, Lilesa was a comfortable winner.

The Ethiopian, who won bronze in Daegu in 2011, beat Bernard Kipyego and 2014 winner Dickson Chumba with a time of 2:06.56.

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store