Guinea Too Good For Uganda Comments (0)

Guinea have beaten a ten-man Uganda 2-0 in Morocco and qualified for the 2015 Africa Nations Cup finals along with Ghana.
Guinea’s goals came from Ibrahima Traore and Seydouba Soumah while Uganda had Andrew Mwesigwa sent off for a professional foul that led to a penalty goal.
Guinea started the more confident team and asked the early questions of Uganda’s defence. Idrissa Sylla got an early shot on goal but his target was way off range.
Inside the opening fifteen minutes Guinea’s right winger, Ibrahima Traore, created several openings and put Uganda’s left back under immense pressure.
Then, on 22 minutes, Seydouba Soumah won a free kick on the edge of the danger area and Guinea’s dangerous winger Traore slotted home with a curling attempt to make it 1-0.
Uganda tried to get back into the game late in the second half, but found the Guinea defence to be rock solid and the West Africans ended the half as the better side.
Guinea started the second half like they did the first and put all the pressure on the Ugandans. In the 52nd minute Naby Keita hit a long range shot, which flew past Onyango and cannoned off the crossbar as Uganda were let off the hook.
But things got worse for Uganda after 58 minutes when Andrew Mwesigwa was sent off for a professional foul as he pulled down his opponent in an one-on-one situation and Guinea won a penalty.
Guinea’s in-form midfielder Seydouba Soumah stepped up and scored with a low shot although Onyango dived straight over the ball and came close to saving.
Guinea came close on 82 minutes when Naby Yattara cut inside and tried to curl his shot around Onyango at the far post. The West African side were full value for their win and qualification. Guinea (1) 2 (Traore 22’ Soumah 60’pen)
Uganda 0
Guinea: Naby Yattara – Florentin Pogba, Fode Camara, Issiaga Sylla, Baissama Sankoh – Boubacar Fofana, Ibrahim Sory Conte, Naby Keita – Idrissa Sylla, Ibrahima Traore, Seydouba Soumah
Uganda: Denis Onyango – Isaac Isinde, Godfrey Walusimbi, Savio Kabugo, Andy Mwesigwa – Geoffrey Kizito, William Kizito Luwaga, Tonny Mawejje, Geoffrey Massa – Farouk Miya, Brian Majweg.