Ghana captain Asamoah Gyan makes shortlist for CAF Player of the Year gong

Ghana captain Asamoah Gyan has been named in CAF’s five-man short list for the 2014 African Footballer of the Year.

The Al Ain talisman faces stiff competition from reigning king Yaya Toure, in-form Borrusia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon.

Also on the list are Super Eagles captain Vincent Enyeama and Ahmed Musa.

Gyan had a successful 2014 campaign after netting two goals at the World Cup finals in Brazil to become Africa’s top scorer in the tournament with six goals.

He overtook Cameroon legend Roger Milla who has five goals under his belt

Gyan also won the UAE Arabian Gulf League goal king and the Asian Champions League top scorer award.

In the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, Ghana winger Solomon Asante missed out on the shortlist.

Algeria duo Akram Djahnit   and El Hedi Belamieri of ES Setif,  Firmin Mubel Ndombe  of  Congo and AS Vita, Fakhereddine Ben Youssef  of Tunisia and CS Sfaxien and late Senso Meyiwa of South Africa and Orlando Pirates made the cut.

For the Woman Player of the Year gong, Nigeria stars Asisat Oshoala and Desire Oparanozie will battle Annette Ngo Ndom of Cameroon, Portia Modise of  South Africa and Zenatha Coleman of Namibia.

The Youth Player of the Year has Oshoala and Uchechi Sunday from Nigeria, Fabrice Ondoa of Cameroon and Kader Bidimbou of Congo Brazaville as nominees.

For Most promising Talent Award, the shortlisted players are Clinton N’jie of Cameroon and Olympic Lyon, Mubele Ndombe of Congo DR and AS VIta, Vincent Aboubakar of Cameroon and FC Porto and Yacini Brahimi of Algeria and also FC Porto

Florent Mbenge, Kherireddine Madoui of Algeria, Rigo Gervais of Cote D’Ivoire, Stephen Keshi of Nigeria and Vahid Halilhdzich of Bosnia and Algeria were nominated for Coach of the Year.

Other nominees are the trio of Nigeria, Algeria and Libya listed for National Team of the Year, Cameroon, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria and Nigeria U-20 for Women’s National Team of the Year and Club of the Year with Al-Ahly of Egypt, AS Vita of Congo, ES Setif of Algeria and Sewe Sports of  Cote d’Ivoire as nominees.

The winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and technical directors of the national associations affiliated to CAF.

The Glo-CAF Awards Gala night will take place on Thursday January 8, 2015 in Lagos, Nigeria.