Four debutants make provisional Ghana squad for 2015 AFCON

Four players got their debut call ups in Ghana’s preliminary squad for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

Enoch Adu Kofi, Ibrahim Moro, Kwesi Appiah and Daniel Amartey will be joining the Black Stars for the first time after coach Avram Grant released a 31-man squad on Wednesday.

Samuel Inkoom, Albert Adomah, Ernest Sowah and Frank Acheampong have also been handed returns to the squad.

Christian Atsu also makes the squad despite being doubtful with a hamstring injury.

New Ghana coach Avram Grant made very minimal changes to the core of the team with the likes of Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew, Jonathan Mensah and Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu all making the squad.

As expected, Sulley Muntari and Kevin-Prince Boateng were excluded from the squad as they continue to serve an indefinite ban from the Black Stars.

Michael Essien was also not called up despite the absence of a disciplinary action against him by the GFA.

Avram Grant will hold a pre-tournament camp with his players in Spain in early January before trimming down his squad to the required 23 players before CAF’s January 7 deadline.

Ghana’s provisional 2015 AFCON squad:

Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Mirandes, Spain), Adams Stephen (Aduana Stars), Fatau Dauda (AshGold) and Ernest Sowah (Don Bosco, DR Congo).

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), John Boye (Erciyesspor, Turkey), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Jeffery Schlupp (Leicester City, England), Awal Mohammed (Maritzburg, South Africa), Kwabena Adusei (Mpumalanga Black Aces, South Africa), Baba Rahman (Augsburg, Germany), Gyimah Edwin (Mpumalanga Black Aces, South Africa), Samuel Inkoom (Houston Dynamo, USA), Daniel Amartey, (FC Copenhagen, Denmark).

Midfielders: Rabiu Mohammed (Krasnodar, Russia), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Parma, Italy), Solomon Asante (T.P. Mazembe, DR Congo), Christian Atsu (Everton, England), Mubarak Wakaso (Celtic, Scotland), Andre Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France), Alfred Duncan (Sampdoria, Italy), Albert Adomah (Middlesbrough, England), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium), Adu Kofi (Malmo, Sweden), Ibrahim Moro (AIK Stockholm, Sweden).

Strikers: Jordan Ayew (Lorient, France), Abdul-Majeed Waris (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Kwesi Appiah (Cambridge United, England) and David Accam (Chicago Fire, USA).