FCPPL Match day 8 Results and Stats

Defending champions Asante Kotoko failed to score on its first game without former coach Mas-Ud Dramani in a 0-0 draw with West Africa Football Academy (WAFA) in Kumasi.

Despite a debut for Emmanuel Clottey for the Porcupine Warriors, WAFA held out, despite Frank Sarfo Gyamfi hitting the post.

Hearts of Oak’s inconsistent run of form continued with a 0-1 loss to Heart of Lions in Kpando. Usman Muntaka struck seven minutes into the second half to claim all three points for Lions. Who move to third on the log.

Yakubu Mohammed netted a hat trick, including two penalties as Ashanti Gold defeated New Edubiase United 3-2 in an exciting Adansi derby in Obuasi.

Fuseini Nuhu gave New Edubiase United the lead, but Yakubu Mohammed leveled six minutes later. Ashanti Gold won a penalty eight minutes to half time and Mohammed converted to put the Miners up.

New Edubiase United themselves won a penalty 18 minutes to time and Fuseini converted for his second goal.

The game seemed fated to end in a draw when the Miners got a second penalty a minute from time. Mohammed converted again to seal a fine win for Ashanti Gold.

Aduana Stars remain second and five points adrift after a 1-0 win over Wa All Stars in Dormaa. Winger Daniel Darkwah struck in the 16th minute to win the match for the 2010 Premier League Champions.

Liberty Professionals defeated Berekum Chelsea 1-0 in a game filled with drama in Dansoman. The visitors were awarded a penalty early on, but Kofi Owusu struck tamely and saw his spot kick saved. The game was heading for a barren draw when Liberty Professionals had a penalty of its own a minute from time. Kennedy Ashia converted to win the game for the hosts.

Bechem United fought from a goal down to defeat Medeama SC 2-1 at home in Bechem. Nathaniel Asamoah converted a 22nd minute penalty to put the visitors in front, but the hosts launched a fine comeback with 18 minutes left. Ernest Baffoe scored the equalizer and within eight minutes, in form midfielder Noah Martey had scored the match winner for the hosts.

Francis Attuquaye scored twice as Great Olympics secured a 3-1 win over B.A. United in Accra. Godfred Asante set the hosts on their way with a strike in the fifth minute, before Attuquaye scored to make it 2-0. The former Dwarfs forward made it 3-0 in the second half before Nana Egyir converted a penalty to pull one back for B.A. United.

On Saturday, Kojo Poku and Tennyson Opoku gave Hasaacas a 2-0 lead, before Eliasu Fuseini pulled one back as Hassacas beat Inter Allies 2-1 in Sekondi.


Match day eight results


New Edubiase United 2-3 Ashanti Gold


Scorers: Fuseini Nuhu (2); Yakubu Mohammed(3)


Great Olympics 3-1 B.A. United


Scorers: Godfred Asante, Francis Attuquaye (2); Nana Kofi Egyir


Aduana Stars 1-0 Wa All Stars


Scorer: Daniel Darkwah


Bechem United 2-1 Medeama SC


Scorer: Ernest Baffoe, Noah Martey; Nathaniel Asamoah


Liberty Professionals 1-0 Berekum Chelsea


Scorer: Kennedy Ashia


Asante Kotoko 0-0 WAFA


Heart of Lions 1-0 Hearts of Oak


Scorer: Usman Muntaka


Hasaacas 2-1 Inter Allies


Scorers: Kojo Poku, Tennyson Opoku; Eliasu Fuseini


Goal king chart


5 – Gilbert Fiamenyo (Hearts of Oak), Kofi Owusu, Stephen Baffour (Berekum Chelsea), Fuseini Nuhu (New Edubiase United), Yakubu Mohammed (Ashanti Gold),

4 – Sherif Deo Mohammed (Inter Allies), Bernard Morrison (Ashanti Gold), Nathaniel Asamoah (Medeama SC), Noah Martey (Bechem United)

3 – Richard Arhin (Aduana Stars), Kwame Boateng, Francis Attuquaye (Great Olympics), Kennedy Ashia (Liberty Professionals), Usman Muntaka (Heart of Lions)

2 – Samuel Afful, Freddie Quayson, Amos Korankye (Hasaacas), Stephen Nyarko (Wa All Stars), Dauda Mohammed (Asante Kotoko), Kissi Koranteng (WAFA), Francis Kyeremeh (B.A. United), Agbeshie Dotsie, Godfred Asante (Great Olympics), Alhassan Nuhu (New Edubiase United), Benjamin Bature (Medeama SC), Matthew Antwi (WAFA)

1 – Isaac Danso, Enoch Gyimah, Nana Egyir (B.A. United), Emmanuel Ankobeah, Roger Lamptey, Kojo Poku, Tennyson Opoku (Hasaacas), Elvis Opoku, Francis Larbi, Daniel Darkwah (Aduana Stars), Joseph Adjei, Abdul Ganiyu, Paul de Vries Asare (Wa All Stars), Isaac Twum, Isaac Quansah, Razir Mohammed, Abdulai Abdul Karim, Tanko Mohammed, Sam Yeboah (Heart of Lions), Lord Ofosuhene, Niare Benogo, Eliasu Fuseini (Inter Allies), Emmanuel Baffour, Petrus Shitembi, Shafiu Mumuni (Ashanti Gold), Alfred Azumah, Emmanuel Antwi, Tamimu Muntari (Liberty Professionals), Daniel Appiah (Great Olympics), Aminu Mohammed, Hamza Mohammed, Ernest Baffoe (Bechem United), Emmanuel Asante, Jordan Opoku, Ahmed Toure, Latif Amadu (Asante Kotoko), Bennett Ofori(Berekum Chelsea), Bernard Ofori, James Boadu, Malik Tahiru  (New Edubiase United), Hans Kwofie, Joseph Tetteh, Kwame Boahen (Medeama SC), Samuel Tetteh, Zakaria Mumuni (WAFA), Richard Yamoah, Selasi Adjei, Shaun October(Hearts of Oak)