FCPPL Match day 7 Results and Stats

Ashanti Gold came from a goal down to defeat defending champions Asante Kotoko 2-1 in Obuasi on Wednesday afternoon in the First Capital Plus Premier League.

Latif Amadu has given the visitors the lead, but Ashanti Gold rallied and soon earned a penalty just before half time.

Yakubu Mohammed converted to level the scores, before in-form striker Bernard Morrison scored the winner in the second half.

The result takes Ashanti Gold five points clear at the top of the log.

Aduana Stars remained second despite a 0-2 loss to Inter Allies in Tema. Sherriff Mohammed netted a brace to lift the FA Cup finalists to fourth on the log.

Kofi Owusu scored the season’s first hat trick as Berekum Chelsea thrashed Bechem United 4-2 in Berekum. Owusu scored twice before Noah Martey pulled one back for the visitors, but Owusu completed his hat trick before Stephen Baffour put the icing on the cake late on. Martey scored yet again scored in added time but that was not enough for the visitors.

Hearts of Oak were brought down to earth after beating Asante Kotoko over the weekend, with a 1-2 loss to New Edubiase United in Accra. Twins Alhassan and Fuseini Nuhu put the visitors 2-0 up and it was a few minutes to time that Shaun October’s deflected effort found the net for a consolation goal for the Phobians.

In a thrilling game in Tarkwa, Medeama SC beat Great Olympics 3-2. Banjamin Bature put the hosts ahead, but Agbeshie Dotsie leveled for Olympics. Joseph Tetteh restored the lead for the Yellow and Mauves, but Dotsie claimed another equalizer with his second of the game, before Kwame Boahen scored the winner.

Sam Yeboah’s goal was enough as Heart of Lions earned a 1-0 win against Wa All Stars in Wa, whilst Francis Kyeremeh was on target as B.A. United recorded a 1-0 victory over Hasaacas in Sunyani.

Matthew Amoah scored twice as West Africa Football Academy (WAFA) defeated Liberty Professionals 2-0 in Sogakope 


Match day seven results


Ashanti Gold 2-1 Asante Kotoko


Scorers: Yakubu Mohammed (pen), Bernard Morrison; Latif Amadu


Berekum Chelsea 4-2 Bechem United


Scorer: Kofi Owusu (3), Stephen Baffour; Noah Martey (2)


WAFA 2-0 Liberty Professionals


Scorer: Matthew Antwi (2)


Inter Allies 2-0 Aduana Stars


Scorer: Sherriff Deo Mohammed (2)


Medeama SC 3-2 Great Olympics


Scorers: Benjamin Bature, Joseph Tetteh, Kwame Boahen; Agbeshie Dotsie (2)


B.A. United 1-0 Hasaacas


Scorer: Francis Kyeremeh


Wa All Stars 0-1 Heart of Lions


Scorer: Sam Yeboah


Hearts of Oak 1-2 New Edubiase United


Scorer: Shaun October; Alhassan Nuhu, Fuseini Nuhu


Goal king chart


5 – Gilbert Fiamenyo (Hearts of Oak), Kofi Owusu, Stephen Baffour (Berekum Chelsea)

4 – Sherif Deo Mohammed (Inter Allies), Bernard Morrison (Ashanti Gold), Noah Martey (Bechem United)

3 – Richard Arhin (Aduana Stars), Kwame Boateng (Great Olympics), Nathaniel Asamoah (Medeama SC), Fuseini Nuhu (New Edubiase United)

2 – Samuel Afful (Hasaacas), Kennedy Ashia (Liberty Professionals), Usman Muntaka (Heart of Lions), Stephen Nyarko (Wa All Stars), Dauda Mohammed (Asante Kotoko), Freddie Quayson, Amos Korankye (Hasaacas), Kissi Koranteng (WAFA), Francis Kyeremeh (B.A. United), Yakubu Mohammed (Ashanti Gold), Agbeshie Dotsie (Great Olympics), Alhassan Nuhu (New Edubiase United), Benjamin Bature (Medeama SC), Matthew Antwi (WAFA)

1 – Isaac Danso, Enoch Gyimah (B.A. United), Emmanuel Ankobeah, Roger Lamptey (Hasaacas), Elvis Opoku, Francis Larbi (Aduana Stars), Joseph Adjei, Abdul Ganiyu, Paul de Vries Asare (Wa All Stars), Isaac Twum, Isaac Quansah, Razir Mohammed, Abdulai Abdul Karim, Tanko Mohammed, Sam Yeboah (Heart of Lions), Lord Ofosuhene, Niare Benogo (Inter Allies), Emmanuel Baffour, Petrus Shitembi, Shafiu Mumuni (Ashanti Gold), Alfred Azumah, Emmanuel Antwi, Tamimu Muntari (Liberty Professionals), Godfred Asante, Daniel Appiah, Francis Attuquaye (Great Olympics), Aminu Mohammed, Hamza Mohammed(Bechem United), Emmanuel Asante, Jordan Opoku, Ahmed Toure, Latif Amadu (Asante Kotoko), Bennett Ofori(Berekum Chelsea), Bernard Ofori, James Boadu, Malik Tahiru  (New Edubiase United), Hans Kwofie, Joseph Tetteh, Kwame Boahen (Medeama SC), Samuel Tetteh, Zakaria Mumuni (WAFA), Richard Yamoah, Selasi Adjei, Shaun October(Hearts of Oak)