The draws for the 4th edition of the African Nations Championship (CHAN) Rwanda 2016 qualifiers and the African Beach Soccer Championship Seychelles 2015 will be held on Sunday, 5 April 2015 at 16H00 (local time) at the CAF Headquarters in Cairo, Egypt.

For the CHAN qualifiers, 42 teams are engaged for the draw to be conducted according to zonal distributions of the National Associations affiliated to CAF.

They engaged teams are;

*Northern Zone (2 spots) – Libya, Morocco, Tunisia

*Zone West A (2 spots) – Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal, Sierra Leone

*Zone West B (3 spots) – Burkina Faso, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria, Togo

*Central Zone (3 spots) – Cameroon, Central African Republic, Congo, Chad, DR Congo, Gabon

*Central-East Zone (3 including hosts) – Burundi, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda

*Southern Zone (3 spots) – Angola, Botswana, Comoros, Mauritius, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe


There will be two rounds each for the qualifiers except for the Northern Zone, where the three teams will play each other on a round-robin basis with the top two qualifying for the final tournament.

The qualifiers will start from the weekend of 19-21 June 2015 through to 28-30 August 2015 where 15 teams will emerge to join hosts Rwanda for the final tournament from 16 January to 7 February 2016.

Previous winners of the CHAN, a tournament designed exclusively for footballers playing in their domestic leagues are DR Congo (2009), Tunisia (2011) and Libya (2014).

Regarding the African Beach Soccer Championship, the identity of the complete qualified teams will be known by 29 March 2015.

Already, Ghana, Egypt, Madagascar and Nigeria have confirmed their places alongside hosts Seychelles, for the final tournament scheduled from 14-19 April 2015.

The finalists will qualify to represent Africa at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup from 9-19 July 2015 in Portugal.