Ballon D’or Contenders: Why Andre Ayew could win this year’s Ballon D’Or award

    Ghana stars Swansea City player Andre Ayew and Bournemouth player Christian Atsu have been included as a nominee for 2015 Fifa’s Ballon D’Or – according to reports.

    The list which have fifty-nine players including Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo and Barcelona ace Lionel Messi, with the duo again tipped to go head-to-head for this year’s ballon d’Or.

    The list was published by several media outlets for this reason its authenticity is in doubt.

    However, one needs not to be told that the arguably two best players at the moment will have their names in the list.

    More surprising are the presence of Black Stars players Christian Atsu and Andre Ayew, but a case could be made for the latter who could fit the bill looking at his displays for Swansea City for the ongoing premier league campaign.

    Andre Ayew, 25, arrived at the Liberty this summer and the African ace has wasted little time in showing his class in the Premier League, grabbing three goals and one assist as part of early season success in South Wales.

    He has even won the Best Player of the Month of August in the premier league and again has been nominated for September’s edition.

    And even before joining Swansea City in the summer transfer, his performance for the Ghana national team and former club Marseille was that of a top-class player.

    Christian Atsu on the hand, having joined Bournemouth on loan from Chelsea has struggled to find more playing time at the Vitality Stadium.

    A case could be made for him for winning Best Player of the AFCON 2015, as well as receiving an award for the Best Goal of the Competition.

    Among the fifty-nine players in the list, Real Madrid and Barcelona are the team with the highest number of players with both team having seven players a-piece, which dominate the 59 man pre-candidate list for the 2015 Ballon D’Or award.

    Current holder, Cristino Ronaldo is joined by: Karim Benzema, Gareth Bale, Sergio Ramos, Modric, James and Toni Kroos.

    Barcelona’s list includes, Messi, aiming to secure his fifth award and is augmented by: Caludio Bravo, Mascherano, Iniesta, Rakitic, Neymar and Luis Suárez.

    See full list below:

    Sergio Aguero (Man City)
    Javier Mascherano (Barcelona)
    Linel Messi (Barcelona)
    Otamendi (Valencia-Man City)
    Pastore (PSG)
    Carlo Tevez (Juventus-Boca)

    Luongo (QPR)

    Alaba (Bayern Munich)

    Courtois (Chelsea)
    De Bruyne (Wolfsburg-Man City)
    Hazard (Chelsea)

    Coutinho (Liverpool)
    Neymar (Barcelona)
    Willian (Chelsea)

    Bravo (Barcelona)
    Medel (Inter)
    Sanchez (Arsenal)
    Vargas (QPR-Hoffenheim)
    Vidal (Juventus-Bayern)

    Bacca (Sevilla-AC Milan)
    Martinez (Porto-Atl. Madrid)
    Ospina (Arsenal
    Rodriguez (Real Madrid)

    South Korea
    Son (Leverkusen-Tottenham)

    Ivory Coast
    Bony (Swansea-Man City)
    Toure (Man City)

    Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
    Rakitic (Barcelona)

    Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
    Griezmann (Atl. Madrid)
    Lacazette (Lyon)
    Pogba (Juventus)

    Kroos (Real Madrid)
    Muller (Bayern)
    Neuer (Bayern)

    Atsu (Everton-Bournemouth)
    Ayew (Marseille-Swansea)

    Okazaki (Leicester)

    Kane (Tottenham)
    Rooney (Man Utd)

    Chiellini (Juventus)
    Pirlo (Juventus – NYC FC

    Dos Santos (Villarreal-LA Galaxy)
    Guardado (PSV)

    The Netherlands
    Depay (PSV-Man Utd)
    Robben (Bayern)

    Guerrero (Corinthians-Flamengo)

    Lewandowski (Bayern)

    Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

    Costa (Chelsea)
    De Gea (Man Utd)
    Iniesta (Barcelona)
    Morata (Juventus)
    Ramos (Real Madrid)

    Ibrahimovic (PSG)

    Cavani (PSG)
    Sanchez (River)
    Suarez (Barcelona)

    Bale (Real Madrid)