Ayew loses BBC African Footballer of the Year prize

Ghana winger Andre Ayew has been beaten by Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure to the 2015 BBC African Footballer of the Year award.

Announced on Friday, Toure claims the ultimate ahead of the Swansea forward, Gabon and Borussia Dortmund striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyung, Sadio Mane of Senegal and Southampton as well as Yacine Brahimi of Algeria and Porto.

Toure, 32, becomes only the third player after Nigeria’s Nwankwo Kanu and Jay-Jay Okocha to win the gong for a second time.

Ayew joined the Swans in June from French side Marseille, and has been in impressive form in the English Premier League, having netted six times in 15 matches.

In May, Ayew won the Marc-Vivien Foe award for the Best African Player in the Ligue 1 for the 2014-15 season during his time in France.

He also helped Ghana to the final of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations in Equatorial Guinea, where they fell at the hands of Cote d’Ivoire, led by Toure.

Currently vying for Swansea Best Player for November after winning the award in August and October, Ayew was named Premier League Player for August as well as Best African Player in the Premier League same month.

He’s also in contention for the November prize for the best African in the Premier League as well as the Caf African Footballer of the Year award which will be announced in January.

Ayew won the BBC African Footballer of the Year accolade in 2011.