Avram Grant snubs Ronaldo – picks Hazard, Neymar ahead of Messi

Fifa have released the official list detailing who the world’s national team coaches voted for to win the Ballon d’Or.

Lionel Messi was announced as the overall winner of the prestigious award at Monday’s ceremony in Zurich.

Ghana head coach Avram Grant selected Neymar as his No.1 pick, while Messi claimed his second vote and, intriguingly, Eden Hazard was his third selection despite the Belgian having failed to score for Chelsea since May.

However, there were more votes for Real Madrid forward Ronaldo from France manager Didier Deschamps, while Jorge Sampaoli, the Chile boss who missed out on the Coach of the Year award, picked Messi.

Brazil boss Dunga opted for Neymar as his first pick, with Messi and Ronaldo second and third while Gerardo Martino selected three of his Argentina players with Sergio Aguero and Javier Mascherano getting the second and third votes.

Of some of the African nations, Senegal manager Aliou Cisse nominated Yaya Toure, while Michel Dussuyer, who has been in charge of the Ivory Coast since July 2015

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store