Australia to meet United States in Davis Cup

The draw for the first round of the 2016 Davis Cup has thrown up a clash between Australia and the United States – the two most successful nations in the event’s history.

The US lead the way with 32 titles, four clear of Australia, with the sides having last met in the 1999 World Group quarter-finals.

Both have struggled to live up to their illustrious past in recent years, with 2007 representing the last American victory, while Australia have not come out on top since 2003.

Australia will select the venue for the first-round match, which will take place on March 4-6.

This year’s finalists Great Britain and Belgium begin with home matches against Japan and Croatia respectively, while 2014 winners Switzerland take on Italy in a repeat of last year’s semi-final.

Serbia, Poland, France and Germany also begin with home ties as they welcome Kazakhstan, Argentina, Canada and the Czech Republic.

Davis Cup draw in full:

Great Britain v Japan
Serbia v Kazakhstan
Italy v Switzerland
Poland v Argentina
France v Canada
Germany v Czech Republic
Australia v USA
Belgium v Croatia