Appiah makes Ghana’s final AFCON squad

Striker Kwesi Appiah is in line to play in his first ever Africa Cup of Nations finals having been named in Ghana’s final 23-man squad for this month’s tournament.

The 24-year-old earned his place in the final squad by scoring on his debut for the Black Stars in the 3-0 friendly win over Olhanense earlier on Wednesday.

Appiah who has just returned from his loan spell at fourth tier English club Cambridge United joins Asamoah Gyan and Jordan Ayew in the striking department of the team.

Norway-based Mahatma Otoo received a late call up into the 23-man squad as a replacement for Majeed Waris who misses out through injury.

Also dropped from the squad is Leicester City defender Jeffery Schlupp who also misses out through injury.

Experienced Samuel Inkoom fails to make the squad as is new comer Ibrahim Moro.

Ghana coach Avram Grant was able to make the final cut way in time to beat CAF’s midnight deadline.

Usual suspects; Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew, Jonathan Mensah, John Boye, Harrison Afful all make the squad.

FC Copenhagen defender Daniel Amartey and Anderlecht’s Frank Acheampong are in line to playing their first major tournament with Ghana following their consistent displays on the domestic front.

The team will continue with their training camp in Spain and will travel to Equatorial Guinea for the tournament early next week.

Ghana is drawn in a tough group at the 2015 AFCON where they will face Senegal, Algeria and South Africa.

Ghana squad:

Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Mirandes, Spain), Fatau Dauda (AshGold) and Ernest Sowah (Don Bosco, DR Congo)

Defenders: Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), John Boye (Erciyesspor, Turkey), Jonathan Mensah (Evian, France), Awal Mohammed (Maritzburg, South Africa), Baba Rahman (Augsburg, Germany), Gyimah Edwin (Mpumalanga Black Aces, South Africa), Daniel Amartey, (FC Copenhagen, Denmark)

Midfielders: Rabiu Mohammed (Krasnodar, Russia), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Parma, Italy), Solomon Asante (T.P. Mazembe, DR Congo), Christian Atsu (Everton, England), Mubarak Wakaso (Celtic, Scotland), Andre Ayew (Olympique Marseille, France), Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht, Belgium), David Accam (Chicago Fire, USA)

Strikers: Jordan Ayew (Lorient, France), Mahatma Otoo (Songdal, Norway) Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain, UAE), Kwesi Appiah (Cambridge United, England).