Agbeko reclaims IBF Bantamweight title

On 11th December, 2010, Joseph Agbeko put up a splendid performance against Yonnhy Perez  to reclaim his IBF bantamweight title in a rematch of their October 2009 clash.

Agbeko, who lost his title to the Colombian in 2009 avenged his defeat in 2010 by winning on unanimous decision to win back his Bantamweight title.

In one half of the bantamweight bout Agbeko was much too quick and too slick for the prodding Perez over twelve rounds of boxing. In a complete 180-degree turn, Agbeko opted to forgo his slugging style from the first fight, and made himself tough to catch; slamming Perez with right hands throughout the night, while making the former champion miss more often than not.

Though Perez kept coming forward, he simply couldn’t land enough of his big shots to put a dent in Agbeko’s gameplan. After Perez appeared to get back into the fight in the 5th and 6th rounds, Agbeko once again turned the tide in his favor with an impressive 7th round. Agbeko continued to fire off quick combinations and put himself out of harm’s way with the exception of a few right hands late in the fight. When it was all said and done, the scores were simply academic, as Agbeko had easily dominated a game Perez. Agbeko would take home the unanimous decision win with tallies of 116-112, 117-111 and 115-113. 411mania also had it 117-111 in favor of Agbeko.

“This is my meal ticket and I’m glad I got it back. I am presenting it to Ghana as a Christmas bonus,” said Agbeko in reference to reclaiming his title.

Perez for his part noted, “Agbeko had an intelligent fight today and he won fair and square. I did not expect this game plan from Agbeko.”

Agbeko lost the IBF Batamweight title to Abner Mares of Mexico in August 2011 and again lost the rematch in 2011.