Afcon Qualifiers: Sunday’s AFCON round-up

14 African Cup of Nations qualifiers were played across the continent on Sunday as some teams looked to seal their berth at AFCON 2017 in Gabon next year.

Here is a round up:

Malawi defeated Swaziland 1-0 at home on Sunday thanks to a Gerald Phiri strike early in the game.

Uganda booked their spot in Gabon, their first Nations Cup appearance in 38 years, when they beat Comoros 1-0 at a capacity Mandela National Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Farouk Miya was the hero for the The Cranes as he netted the winner with scenes of wild celebrations at the final whistle.

Togo dramatically booked their spot at the Finals with a comprehensive 5-0 victory over Djibouti at home. The Sparrow Hawks’ rout, coupled with other favourable results, will see them in Gabon early next year.

Ferebory Dore’s 81st minute goal helped Congo-Brazzaville beat the already qualified Guinea-Bissau 1-0 in a Group E game in Congo.

The Democratic Republic of Congo sealed their place as group winners when they trounced Central Africa Republic 4-1 at home while Burkina Faso came out 2-1 winners against Botswana.

Ranford Kalaba scored a late goal to allow Zambia to fight back  and draw their game against Kenya. Ayub Timbe struck for the Harambee Stars.

Equitorial Guinea smashed South Sudan 4-0 at home while Guy Michel scored early in the piece as Guinea edged the already qualified Zimbabwe.

Mali showed why they could be a force in Gabon after comfortably disposing ofBenin, 5-2, while Niger and Burundi was the only game of the day to have no goals.

In the late kick-offs, Tunisia easily beat Liberia 4-1 while Morocco comfortably dispatched minnows Sao Tome 2-0 in Rabat.

The continent’s number-one ranked side, Algeria, ended the group phase with a perfect record after routing Lesotho 6-0 in Blida with Riyad Mahrez getting his name on the score sheet twice.

Sunday’s results:

Malawi 1-0 Swaziland
Uganda 1-0 Comoros
Burkina Faso 2-1 Botswana
Zambia 1-1 Kenya
Congo 1-0 Guinea Bissau
Equatorial Guinea 4-0 South Sudan
Guinea 1-0 Zimbabwe
DR Congo 4-1 Central Africa
Mali 5-2 Benin
Niger 0-0 Burundi
Togo 5-0 Djibouti
Tunisia 4-1 Liberia
Morocco 2-0 Sao Tome
Algeria 6-0 Lesotho

Here’s the final 16-team field that qualified for next year’s AFCON: Gabon (hosts); Tunisia, DR Congo, Mali, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Morocco, Egypt, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Algeria, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Cameroon (respectively Group A to M winners); Uganda and Togo (two best runners-up)


Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store