Afcon 2017: Mali names provisional squad

    By Prince Dulzy

    Ahead of the 2017 African Cup of Nations in Gabon, Ghana’s group D opponent Mali has named their provisional squad for the tournament.

    French coach Alain Giresse revealed his 27-man provisional squad for the Afcon starting in the second week of January.

    Crystal Palace forward Bakary Sako is among the names included in the squad, , while Sambou Yatabaré of Werder Breme also earns a senior call-up.

    The Eagles boss has until January 4 to confirm his 23-man squad to tournament organisers Caf, with Ghana, Uganda and Egypt the teams in Mali’s group at Afcon 2017.

    READ MORE: Oti Akenten backs Avram Grant for Afcon 2017 success

    Mali’s provisional squad:

    Goalkeeper: Djigui Diarra (Stade Malien de Bamako, Mali), Soumaïla Diakité (Stade Malien de Bamako, Mali), Oumar Sissoko (Orléans, France)

    Defenders: Ousmane Coulibaly (Panathinaïkos Greece), Hamari Traoré (Reims, France), Molla Wagué (Udinese, Italy), Salif Coulibaly (T.P Mazembé, R.D Congo), Mohamed Oumar Konaté (Renaissance Berkane, Morocco), Youssouf Koné (Lille, France), Charles Traoré (Troyes, France), Mahamadou N’Diaye (Troyes, France)

    Midfielders: Yacouba Sylla (Montpellier, France), Adama Traoré (AS Monaco, France), Mamoutou N’Diaye (RS Antwerp, Belgium), Lassana Coulibaly (Bastia, France), Sambou Yatabaré (Werder Bremen, Germany), Samba Sow (Kayeseryspor, Turkey), Ives Bissouma (Lille, France), Souleymane Diarra (Ujpest, Hungary), Falaye Sacko (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal)

    Strikers: Moussa Maréga (Victoria, Guimarães, Portugal), Mustpaha Yatabaré (Krademir Karabukspor, Turkey), Adama Traoré (T.P Mazembé, R.D Congo) Bakary Sako (Crystal Palace, England), Moussa Doumbia (Rostov, Russia), Kalifa Coulibaly (La Gantoise, Belgium)

    Download our mobile app today.

    Android – Google Play Store