Afcon 2017: Gyan headlines Ghana squad for AFCON 2017

    By Prince Dulzy

    Ghana’s bid for glory will again be led by captain Asamoah Gyan, who is joined by vice-captain Andre Ayew and other new faces in Avram Grant’s 23-man squad for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon.

    There were some surprises including the omission of Majeed Waris, while Schalke’s Bernard Tekpetey is included in the squad, his first senior call-up.

    REAM MORE: Oti Akenten backs Avram Grant for AFCON 2017

    Ghana face Egypt, Mali and Uganda in Group D of the 16-team tournament that starts on January 14 in Gabon.

    Ghana squad in full

    Goalkeepers: Razak Braimah (Cordoba) Richard Ofori (Wa All Stars), Fatau Dauda (Enyimba Fc)

    Defenders: Frank Acheampong (Anderlecht), Harrison Afful (Columbus Crew), John Boye (Sivasspor), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew), Baba Rahman (Schalke), Andy Yiadom (Barnsley).

    Midfielders: Afriyie Acquah (Torino), Emmanuel Agyemang-Badu (Udinese), Daniel Amartey (Leicester City), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United) Edwin Gyimah (Orlando Pirates), Ebenezer Ofori (AIK Stockholm), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid), Samuel Tetteh (Leifering), Mubarak Wakaso (Panathinaikos).

    Forwards: Ebenezer Assifuah (Sion), Andre Ayew (West Ham), Jordan Ayew (Aston Villa) Asamoah Gyan (Al Ahli), Bernard Tekpetey (Schalke)

    READ MORE: Black stars players chosen on merit, says Nyantakyi

    By Prince Dulzy

    Download our mobile app today.

    Android – Google Play Store