AFCON 2015: Tunisia name final squad

Tunisia coach George Leekens has named his final 23-member team for the 2015 Africa Cup.

Leekens task was somewhat made a little lighter after he was left with just 24 players to selection when two players dropped out of the selection race due to injury.

This is after Hertha Berlin midfielder Anis Ben Hatira and Lens striker Yoann Touzghar withdrew from the team due to injury.

The axe then fell on veteran 31-year-old defender Yassin Mikari of Tunisian side Club Africain.

Tunisia are in Group B at the Africa Cup where they have been drawn against DR Congo, Cape Verde and Zambia.

The 2004 champions will face Cape Verde in both sides opening game on January 18 at Ebebiyin.

Tunisia’s final AFCON squad:

Goalkeepers: Moez Ben Cherifia (Espérance de Tunis), Farouk Ben Mustapha (Club Africain), Aymen Mathlouthi (Etoile du Sahel)

Defenders: Mohamed Ali Yaâkoubi (Espérance de Tunis), Aymen Abdennour (AS Monaco), Rami Bedoui (Etoile du Sahel), Syam Ben Youssef (Astra Giurgiu), Ali Maâloul (Club Sportif Sfaxien), Hamza Mathlouthi (CA Bizertin), Bilel Mohsni (Glasgow Rangers), Slim Ben Jemai (Laval)

Midfielders: Yassine Chikhaoui (FC Zurich), Stéphane Nater (Club Africain), Mohamed Ali Moncer (Club Sportif Sfaxien), Houcine Ragued (Espérance de Tunis), Ferjani Sassi (Club Sportif Sfaxien), Jamel Saihi (Montpellier), Wahbi Khazri (Bordeaux), Anis Ben Htira (Hertha Berlin)

Forwards: Youssef Msakni (Lekhwiya), Fakhreddine Ben Youssef (Club Sportif Sfaxien), Saber Khelifa (Club Africain), Hamza Younes (Ludogorets), Amine Chermiti (FC Zurich)