AFCON 2015: Kevin Constant makes Guinea final squad

Guinea coach Michel Dussuyer has named a 23-man roster for the 2015 Afcon.

The list released by the Frenchman at Tuesday’s press briefing has fit-again influential midfielder Kevin Constant returning to the team. The ex-AC Milan player missed most of the qualifying campaign through injury.

Impressive shot stopper Naby Yattara, Ibrahima Traoré, Seydouba Soumah and Sheffield Wednesday’s Kamil Zayatte are some of the usual suspects who made the cut.

Dussuyer’s list of 23 is hugely dominated by players abroad with spaces made for only two players form the Guinea Ligue 1 – AS Kaloum goalkeeper Abdoul Aziz Kéita and Fodé Camara from Horoya

The Syli Nationale will have their pre-Afcon preparations at the Wellness and Fitness Center in Casablanca – the same facility used during the Afcon qualifiers as their camping base before heading to Equatorial Guinea for the tournament proper.

Guinea, despite their challenges with Ebola, qualified for the Nations Cup competition alongside Ghana – playing all their home games away from home. They have Cameroon, Ivory Coast and Mali to contend with at the group stage of the 2015 Afcon


Syli Nationale Afcon squad:

Goalkeepers (3): Abdoul Aziz Kéita (AS Kaloum, Guinea), Naby Yattara (AC Arles Avignon, France), Aboubacar Camara (CD Alcoyano, Spain)

Defenders (8):  Djibril Tamsir Paye (Zulte Waregem, Belgium), Fodé Camara (Horoya AC, Guinea), Abdoulaye Cissé (Angers, France), Mohamed Diarra (BK Odense, Denmark), Florentin Pogba (Saint-Etienne, France), Baissama Sankoh (EA Guingamp, France), Issiaga Sylla (Toulouse FC, France), Kamil Zayatte (Sheffield Wednesday, England)

Midfielders (6): Kevin Constant (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Ibrahima Conté (Zulte Waregem, Belgium), Lanfia Camara (RC Malines, Belgium), Boubacar Fofana ( CD Nacional Funchal, Portugal), Naby Kéita (FC Red Bull Salzburg, Austria), Bouna Sarr (FC Metz, France).

Forwards (6): Abdoul Razagui Camara (Angers, France), François Kamano (Bastia, France), Seydouba Soumah (Slovan Bratislava, Slovakia), Idrissa Sylla (Zulte Waregem, Belgium), Ibrahima Traoré (Monchengladbach, Germany), Mohamed Lamine Yattara (Lyon, France)