2017 Nations Cup hosts to known April 8

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have announced the hosts for the 2017 AFCON will be named on April 8 in Cairo, Egypt.

Seven bids have been received for this competition – Algeria, Egypt, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Sudan and Zimbabwe.

The qualifying tournament will begin in June with the host nation taking part for the first time, but their matches will be considered as friendlies and will not be computed for points.

The draw for the competition will also be done on April 8 in Cairo, Egypt.

A total of 52 teams are expected to enter for the qualifiers and will be divided into 13 groups with the winners qualifying for the final tournament as well as the two best runners-up.

Only one team will come out of the group that features the host nation.

CAF also announced that the 2018 World Cup qualifiers will begin in October.

There will be three preliminary rounds to bring the teams to 20 teams, who will then be divided into five groups of four teams each.

The winners of these five groups will qualify for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.