The Under-20 CAF AFCON draw

The Under-20 CAF Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) draw has been announced with South Africa being handed a group of death amongst two continental giants.

Eight teams qualified for the tournament to be hosted next year in Zambia, with Amajita drawn in Group B alongside Cameroon, Senegal and Sudan.

SA famously beat Senegal in the U23 version of the competition last year as the Lions of Teranga fell in the third-fourth play-off as qualification for the recent Rio Olympics.

A repeat performance for Thabo Senong’s side would be a welcome boost for the development of the senior national team.

Platinum Stars playmaker Kobamelo Kodisang, Sporting CP striker Liam Jordan, Bidvest Wits pair Sibongakonke Mbatha and Phakamani Mahlambi will provide the junior side with a formidable attacking line-up.

Group A: Zambia, Guinea, Egypt, Mali

Group B: Senegal, Sudan, Cameroon, South Africa

Download our mobile app today.

Android – Google Play Store